A mix of something a bit different.

John - LCTD

New Metal Member
Dec 31, 2005
www.myspace.com
Hey up guys, i'm a new user, so this is my first post.

Its a mix that i've done of my band, and i'm interested at to hear peoples opinions on it.

I'm a great admirer of Andy Sneaps work and i'm pretty new to the production/mixing game, so any help is much appreiciated.

The mastering is a bit rubbish as i freely admit that i am no mastering engineer.

Heres the mix:
http://media.putfile.com/final-master-widened-01

Thanks again,
John

did you just say the mix is rubbish??

Sounds really, really good John!! i love the technical aspect in this song.. the sound is really heavy as well... when you say you are new to this, i am guessing this is defenitely not your first recording... ;)

Could you eleborate a bit about what you did and how you recorded this?

Cheers!

Ah cheers mate thankyou!

No i'm pretty much happy with the mix, its just i did wat i think is mastering pretty quickly, so i think thats a bit sketchy!

I'm a 2nd year studying popular music, so we gets a bit of studio time, but not as much as i'd like, so its about my 4th multitrack-overdub recording i think...

The tracks were recorded in the studios at my uni (Salford) to my computer running Cubase SL3, and then mixed at home on the said computer, so i luckily got to use some pretty good gear for the tracking aspect of it.

If you want any more info like wat mikes i used and the such, just ask and i'd be more than happy to help.

Take it easy,
John

Thankyou for your welcome! i'v been reading the forum for a bit now, but i'v taken the plunge and decided to contribute...

But anyway, heres the equipment list:

Drums:
A pretty rubbish beginners kit that cost about £300 pounds a fair few years ago (used the kick and toms from that), snare is a pearl maple 14x3 i think.

Kick - Shure Beta 52 and a Studio Projects T3 both through a Focusrite twintrack