Ambient/Drone/Etc.

Draehl

Lurker
May 31, 2004
Atlanta 'burbs
Ambient, Drone, Noise, etc... These long-winded mixtures-with and cousins-to metal deserve their own thread being different enough and appealing to us in more unique situations and mindsets. This is definitely an experiment as it does include some overlap with other genres, but it may help focus the other threads (black metal in particular) to a somewhat more common consensus.

I've been rather impressed in particular by one-offs/changes in direction from metal acts IE Burzum and Wolves in the Throne Room or side projects like Wardruna (Gorgoroth), Lord Wind (Graveland) and Tribes of Neurot (Neurosis). Also, I'm a bit of a newbie to Ritual Ambient and Dungeon Synth, but will be exploring them more going forward and posting any good shit I find. Here's a handful to get us started:

Last edited:
Reactions: CiG
I love Ambient but I hate Drone.
Don't mind some Noise either though that interest has massively waned over the years, occasionally I'll pop on Sloth's noisier stuff or some Nurse With Wound, Half An Abortion, Violent Onsen Geisha or The Gerogerigegege.
Way back when I was in rehab I actually recorded a "Noise" demo, it's not strictly Noise, mostly just free improvisation and some other influences like sampling.

Shameless self-promotion.

https://pustule.bandcamp.com/

But back to Ambient, I thoroughly enjoyed the Wongraven, Spectral Lore and Forgotten Kingdoms links you shared. Especially Spectral Lore which I plan to now get into!
I think Burzum's Dauði Baldrs is absolutely essential listening in this realm of music and to a lesser extent, Fenriz's Neptune Towers project.

Here's a few of my personal favourites for good measure.

(This one was in my top 30 best of 2015.)

i love Spectral Lore (though the black metal stuff is where it's at), and adore Lord Wind's last two albums.