anybody here know anything about the science of genes?

Baliset

guitar deity
Jul 31, 2002
New England
www.maudlinofthewell.com
so here's the situation:

my grandmother and grandfather had two children, my mom and my uncle. my mom met my dad, got married and had four kids and my uncle met my aunt, got married and had four kids.

i am the youngest of all my siblings and i am a musician.

my uncle's youngest son is going to school to become an actor right now and is going to england to study drama over there as well.

so my question is whether or not there is some scientifically verifiable "artistic gene" and if there is a set way it gets passed on because it seems to me to be a very weird coincidence that the youngest child of four children for both my mom and my uncle(who come from the same genepool) would become an artistic person of sorts.

can anyone shed some light on this or tell me i am completely crazy and over-analyzing this?

Funny you should mention that, I was just talking about that same thing with my dad yesterday. He's one of those old guys who thinks genes are neat-o and therefore control every aspect of our lives. He believes there's a gene for homosexuality, a gene for liking creme and sugar in your coffee, a gene for thinking Fellini films are a bit too queer to fully appreciate, a gene for enjoying a nice walk everyday, etc. I, on the other hand, believe we're more a product of our upbringing, of our family dynamic and our place within it than the sum of our genes.