Australian sneapsters, what is Australia like ?

akarawd

Aug 30, 2004
www.ogregomixmaster.net
There is a chance that we (me, my wife and child) relocate to a foreign country after the summer and Australia is on the top of our list. I'm currently studying all the laws and trying to absorb any additional info.

I know it's a vague question but what is Australia like ? What are the
major pros and cons ?

Thanks for your time,
Thanos

PS. The story in short :

As most of you know Greece's incompetent politicians have managed to tear to pieces one of the most resourceful countries in the world (gold, oil, uranium, premium agricultural products, sea, scenic beauty etc etc).

Now, at 35, we're forced to sell our house (been working 96hours/week for the past years to pay off the mortgage but people are getting fired by the hour here) and relocate before shit hits the fan and an economic default is declared.

I feel nothing but rage.

I think you could learn to like Australia. We seem to have a large Greek population here, so if you need to feel like you belong there won't be another country man too far away.

I like Australia for the most part. Having become a home owner earlier this year there are some things which shit me to hell and back though. For such a developed country our mainstream technology is behind, health system is working almost at 100% capacity, education system leaves a bit to be desired and as you'll probably find all over the world the lower class citizens and young people can be pretty fucked in the head at times.
The cost of living is growing, it is becoming quite expensive to live within 40 minutes of any majoy City (Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, etc), anything produced in the US or EU is expensive..etc etc.