Bass-related question to Andreas.

Solomyr

New Metal Member
Oct 2, 2012
As a bassist, I am completely blown away by your playing, you give me inspiration to practice even harder and to improve!

I have some questions that I hope that you can answer:

1. I wonder what made you pick up the bass the first place and why you wanted to play 6-string bass? (My reason was Dream Theater of course :p )

2. Do you have any musical background (Like music college) or are you primarily a self-taught player?

3. You have a MTD bass, what made you choose this bass? Is it the playability? Or is it the tone?

4. Do you have any practice tips for bassists who wants to take their playing to the next level?

Would appreciate any response.

Keep working hard on the new album and stay heavy!

Regards from Sweden.

Thanks for the kind words!

1) I was spending a summer, probably around ´95/´96, watching Cliff 'em all video that I had borrowed from a buddy of mine as well as a Black SAbbath video and (as always back then) every Iron Maiden video, and all three bands had very prominent bass players. Maybe not technical marvels by today's standards, but at least leading roles in their respective bands, to some extent ground breaking and definitely looked the part. I was just stricken by how cool it looked as the were hammering the basses with the finger picking. You also have to remember that this was 1995 and nobody wanted to play bass. It was extremely uncool and everybody who id it di d so only because tey sucked at guitar and still wanted to be in the band so they played the root notes at low volumes (/endrant). So I simply decided that I want to do this because nobody is and I decided to get get pretty darn good at it too. That is how it started, although I didn't get into serious practising until afte I wsa introduced t bands like Symphony X, Yngwi Malmsteen and Dream Theater.