Beginning guitar - a question.

Vidar

New Metal Member
Jun 29, 2003
Washington, USA
Visit site
In about a week and a half (my birthday) I will be getting a guitar. I have a question about distortion though.

What effect does Opeth use on the distorted guitars? For example, toward the end of To Bid You Farwell. If this sounds like a retarded question, I apologize, I am very new to this.

Basically, I am looking for a pedal that can do that type of sound and not be expensive, but I don't know what to get. There are a few Boss pedals in my price range, but I need to know what to look for. Like for example, there is a overdrive and a distortion pedal, but I have no idea what makes them different from each other.

I don't nessesarilly want to play Opeth right at the start. I just really like the way it sounded, so I'm curious as to what exactly is used.

Anyway, if it's that out of the picture then don't worry about it. I just want to know exactly how guitars are distorted and how the different types of distortion used effect the final result.

The end of To Bid You Farewell?

Well for the first two albums, Opeth used two Jackson Rhoads guitars (the flying Vs) and they ran them through a Boss Metalzone, which is quite a shitty pedal. I'm really surprised you want your tone to be like Morningrise though, as Mikael himself said he hated the production on the first two albums.

Anyway on the later stuff from MAYH onwards... they basically started multitracking their music. Meaning that they ran a guitar through a Peavey 5150 lightly distorted, recorded that, then ran it through a Mesa Boogie dual rectifier lightly distorted and recorded that, then they would double the track, basically put the 2 recordings over the top of each other to get that tone.

However what they use live is basically a Boss GT-3 (or whatever model, I know the 6 is the newest now) and they use their amps as a PA, getting all their distortion and effects from the pedal.