Burning Cd's?

TestamentNut

Senior Shred Guitar Lord
Apr 1, 2002
yerma, mn
Visit site
james you had good points on why this ruins bands. i will only burn someone 1 cd of a band, if they want the rest i tell them to buy them all. a friend of mine who is a huge pink floyd fan burned me 2 of their cds and i got hooked by them. i have bought many of their cds since then. i think cd burning is ok as long as you dont give someone the entire cd.

I think cd copying is ok, so long as it is very small scale, as you say. I used to trade with guy, but this was only like 5 or 6. This I have no problem with. It's the buggers that go and do multiple copies for their friends. I got one Katatonia cd burned, I have bought 12 albums as a direct result of that one, there are another 5 or 6 I want, and I'll continue to support the bands related (Katatonia, October Tide, Diabolical Masquerade, Bloodbath, Opeth). However, I'm probably more principaled than most, being a musician myself. The big problem is the internet stuff, it's a great concept, but it's just too large scale to work. (I actually had a debate in a job interview with the guy that advises our coutrys minister for whatever it's called that deals with all this (it was a computer job)- I won too (he was in favour of it). Didn't get the job....). I'll burn to expose people to new stuff if I know they wouldn't buy it anyway, but I have rather strict limits on it, and it's a very occassional thing.

Yeah, there's just something about hahving the case and booklet and all that is cool. The cd-r's that I do have (that don't suck) I will buy if I ever see them in the shop (or order once I get a job...)

Hmm. I don't see anything wrong with burning a cd. Infact I think all of Creed's realeses should be set a blaze and tossed in the fire place.....