Buy a Sansamp PSA-1 or keep the ValveKing?

Jan 25, 2008
Los Angeles, CA
When I was a total noob I bought the Peavey Valveking head and a XXX cab because I wanted something for live use and practicing. I am not too happy with the valveking lately, so I'm considering getting rid of it. I need to keep the cab because I need something to practice with and don't own a PA system. Also, I cut the grill for easy micing, so I don't know how much a buyer would like that :loco: Does a sansamp sound good through a cab and can it even run through a cab? What other devices would you suggest for about a 400 dollar price range? Does anybody want to buy a Valveking :saint:?

you can't just run the sansamp into the cab, you need a poweramp-and have you tried the sansamp through a guitar poweramp into a guitar cabinet? Because I know alot guys who don't like that sound.
The guitar player in my new band uses a Valveking, too-throws a TS7 in front of it and get's a nice sound (with LTD JH600) out of it.
If I were you-I would try many different settings and boost the Valveking.

+2 to what StefTD said - you still need a power amp if you buy the Sansamp.

Yeah what steff said, another one up for that. the sansamp is a preamp, it won't power up a cab, you need a power amp for that. and a friend of mine has exactly that rig (valveking head, XXX cab) and it sounds pretty cool and he plays traditional death metal, like steff said you can put a TS in front of it and make it sound better.

My vote is ditch the Valveking, forget about the PSA-1 unless you wanna play harsh grinding Tagtgren/"Sehnsucht" tones, and get a Rev Jr./Tiny Terror/used 5150, depending on your needs! (I'd rather have the first two than the 5150 sound-wise, but the 5150 of course has the power if you need it for large gigs)

Yeah, true that on the Pro! I just wasn't sure if it would be in his price range ($700 if I'm not mistaken)