CAN PRESONUS FIREPOD USE ADAT FOR MORE INPUTS??

sk8ersick666

I need a beer...
Apr 12, 2009
Jersey
www.myspace.com
Ok so here is the deal

I've been recording with the Presonus Firepod for a while now and I'm pretty please with it, the preamps are really nice. Until now, the 8 inputs were doing fine for me but the other day this band wanted to record with me and the drummer had an extra snare and 4 toms...so that leaves no room for a scratch guitar...

i looked into the options of expanding inputs through ADAT or S/PDIF and I know it's possible with the Presonus Digimax if you run in through the Presonus Fire Studio, is that also possible with the Firepod???

Does the Firepod even have ADAT?? (I'm a total noob as you can tell)

If this isnt possble, what other options do I have?? Please help me out because i definetly need more inputs. 16 would be nice if i get a Digimax...but i really rather not get a new interface

The FirePod doesn't have ADAT. However it as 10 inputs and not 8. Two of inputs are S/PDIF (They are clearly labeled at the back of the unit). You can use a preamp that has an S/PDIF outs (e.g. http://www.thomann.de/at/dbx_386_mic_preamp.htm) to expand your 8 FirePod inputs by 2.

well 10 is definetly better but i guess one way or the other i wont get to 16 with the firepod.uh?

ugh..i guess i'll have to invest on a firestudio and a digimax

any other ideas?

wow...now you really got me interested

please explain enlighten my noob ass...daisy chaining?..am i going to need a second firewire port for that?.. because thats another problem i have

On the back of the firestudio's there are 2 firewire ports. one goes to your computer, the other could go to another firestudio. repeat for 2nd box.

I use lightpipe for my profires though :kickass: