Choosing a DAW

Massili

Jun 3, 2005
Hi Guys,

After a long time using pc i have decided go to the mac route for my next recording computer!

I'm a long time cubase user and i really like it but i'm a bit unsure which DAW to choose to work on a mac, plus i'd like a change.

I'm not a pro, not even close, and i mainly do demos for my bands only. I record drums in another studio and complete the work at home, recording guitars, bass, vocals, mixing and mastering.

I use alot of plugins and here is my concerns...

first, i had thought on upgrading to cubase 6 but after reading reviews and opinions about daws, i'm facing a dilemma on these 3 DAWS to choose...cubase 6, Logic Pro 9 and Reaper.

which one of these has the best plugins, delivering the best sound, mainly reverb and compressors?
I'm used to cubase, how different are reaper and logic about the Workflow and quality of the stock plugins and resources? Are them easy to get used after so many years using cubase?

Buying a Mac + a software DAW will let my wallet empty! So, for now, I can't afford third party plugins and this is the most concerning part of my choose, how good are the stock plugins on these daws!

However, i'm not sure if i'll afford cubase, which happens to be the most expensive of the 3.

Could you guys give me some thoughts?

Reaper definitely has a lot of things going for it. But I still stick to Cubase for anything serious. Every daw is vastly different.

The stock plugins cover everything you need in Cubase. The new REVerence is pretty nice. It is essentially an impulse/convolution loader. I find I actually use them more and more.

Why switch to a mac? If your pc is stable why switch? Consider also the amount of free plugins for pc that are not on the mac. Amp sims, reverbs, compressors, eq, etc. where many sound better than commercial stuff. Plus you save on the apple tax.

The free plugs sell it for me alone. There are a few that would be hard to live without.