crossing over to metal drumming - tips please

acidbasement

catalyst of entropy
Aug 11, 2006
Dragon Valhalla
I've been playing drums (rock, jazz-fusion, funk, reggae) for 14 years, but only listening to metal for 3 years. I want to play metal, and I'm looking for tips in crossing over - it's like learning a completely new instrument! I play at a professional level when I'm doing other styles, but I completely fall apart when I try to play metal. :puke:

My most pressing issue: I recently got a double-kick pedal, and I find that my shins get very tired and sore if I keep up a fast beat for too long. Is this just a matter of building up endurance, or do I need to adjust something, for example the height of my seat (I'm currently a low rider)? I also play with heels down, but maybe I need to switch to heels up? Shoes vs. barefoot?

Any tips from drummers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :kickass:

Alright, here we go :)

Most metal drumming is rather simple with the hands, and down under is where it gets more difficult - but I'm sure you've observed that already. So there are 4 major techniques on the pedal:

1 - Heel down - I'm sure you're already familiar with this one already lol. Anyway, heel-down has negatives (not loud enough, and fast-tiring) and posetives (composed, more intricate and controlbale.)