dealing with difficult band members

jrt12

Oct 20, 2008
Hell-ay, CA
so the post about dealing with difficult clients had a lot of great suggestions, even though the thread doesnt apply to me since i'm not a producer. but i know that many of you out there also have your own bands. and, as you also produce, i'm sure its safe to bet that many of you "run" your projects in one way or another. so i was wondering... how do you deal with unmotivated band members?

I know that every situation is very different, with a hundred different factors playing into each relationship... from private/personal issues to addictions to general laziness. its always a unique situation. but given that, i've often found in threads that there arise some general principles or best practices that we all around the world can agree on.

so anyways, do you have band members who dont put in the hours? who seem to always do just enough, but who every other month you feel like giving them an ultimatum?

for me, it was so hard to find someone who i could clique with so well... who complements my style so well. who i am exciting about making music with. yet, half the time i'm so frustrated with them because as much as they say they want to be in this project, they never put in even a quarter of the effort i do. and yes, at times, it holds the project back. so with that in mind, i dont wanna say screw it and i'll just find someone else. but yet, i'm tired of running in the same circles.

have you found anything that you find helps in these types of situations?

In my experiences so far, when you pussy foot around these people it serves no purpose other than elongating the envitable unfortunately :( It depends on how far they are down the road, if its just a short dip in motivation then you can use some technqiues to perk them up.

Hey dude, very good thread!

I think, I can write something about this. It´s a current theme for me. How I can start..