Dialling in a Mesa Rectifier head.

Trevoire520

Mar 24, 2007
Fife, Scotland
Hey guys, got a band coming in to record soon and the guitarist has got a rectifier head. I've never used one of these before and I know there's quite a few options with bold/spongy switches, tube/solid state rectification, different channels and modes etc. Basically I don't know where to start!

I think its the single rectifier solo head the guy has. I know the general consensus is that it's not as good as the other recto's. Though I remember hearing a clip of Marcus' holy diver cover run through it that sounded really good.

What's a good starting point with this amp for a metalcore kinda sound?

Def boost the amp with either a ts 808 or an od808. And keep the presence around 11o clock and 1 o clock. And on the single rec put it on bold. and you don't have to worry about the recto tube's since the single rec only has silicon diodes :)

Tricky bastards to dial in rectos... I think the best tip I can give is to not be afraid to turn knobs down from the mid position. I've ne'er got a great sound out of one with any of the knobs dimed that's for sure!

I have a triple Recto and the way I dial it is:
808 in front
All knobs at 12 then lower bass a bit to get rid of mud (ends up around 11 o'c)
Lower mids to get rid of boxiness (ends up around 9-10o'c)
Presence to zero then turn it up until the fizz appears then back off a bit (ends up around 7-9o'c)
Back off treble to 10o'c then turn it up until fizz appears then back off a bit (usually ends up 11-12o'c)
Turn up gain until fizz appears then back it off a bit (usually 12-2o'c)
The recto's eq is nothing like my other heads. If you go past 12o'c on any control it's too much (for me). Some people don't like rectos because they are fizzy but it's usually due to pilot error setting the eq up like they would on other amps.