Does a studio really matter for vocals?

JayB

Oct 10, 2009
open.spotify.com
Hey , I'm really new to recording vocals , ( I'm gonna give it a shot for my band's album) I was thinking of just picking up an SM57 , especially after hearing how fucking awesome Gareth's vocals came out with monitors blaring in the back . ( Though Gareth is pure talent so of course that is a factor). Also I saw Tim Lambesis recording the new AILD with one. I don't really feel like going to a studio to record vocals , since I am quite capable of recording them myself , and I would be way more comfortable. Does WHERE you record really matter? Can't most extraneous noise be eq'd and gated out? I figure since these days all reverb is mostly done in plug ins anyway... I just wanna know from the pro's if it's feasible before I go and spend the money on a mic and shit. Is it really worth going to a studio to record vocals?

I've heard from so many guys the sE Electronics Reflexion Filter is "junk." I have no experience with it personally though, and I've also heard good things about it too...

Honestly I really think a solid mic pre and mic can make a huge difference, as well as getting it pretty dead in the room if it doesn't sound good, then using impulses or something afterwards. Something like a UA-610 or something, there's is just something about those $$ pres that add this particular quality.

006 , I was actually thinking of using impulses... I wonder do people make awesome vocal impulses like they make guitar impulses? I bought Mellowmuse IR1A and that has some good ones...