Drum Processing

setyouranchor

Celestial Recordings
May 17, 2010
North Wales, UK
Im quite new to recording drums, I want to move away from programming them!

I just wanted to ask a simple question about the process after all the drums have been edited.

Once you have quantized, mixed, blended, sampled, whatever! To save CPU, would you then bounce your final drum mix as a WAV and import back as a seperate project and record the rest of the band?

If this is the case, what would happen if you needed to add more reverb to snare? More compression to the kick? Would you simply open up the original drum files project you have previously saved, make neccessary changes and bounce again?

Thanks in advance

I have a computer that's fast enough to throw anything at it. That's the route I would go tbh. If I would do it the route your discribing I would waste more time bouncing the drums than actually mixing them.

Ah I get it. So make all the changes you need to all the drum tracks > bounce in place > then freeze all the original files which have the effects running to free up some CPU?

When I bounce in place, will all the drums still have the effect sends from busses etc applied to them?

a dialogue will display a myriad of settings when you choose "bounce in place" ...i will assume that you can articulate that information here.

*i don't use logic... but i became a certified instructor for logic about five months ago... the studio i work at payed for it so, i am now a compendium of useless information. :lol:

Ok dude thanks a lot! I'll try it out :)

But thats the route you would take as far as drum processing during each song?

I guess its just finding the method which works best for you, but I wanted to find the most effcient and keep the best sound quality I could!

Oh, and one more thing, might seem a nooby question but I have to ask, what do people mean when they say "print" drums?