Ear protection?

Öwen;8944505 said:
Usually sounds better with plugs anyway IMHO, none of that "my ears are being destroyed" high end.

I've always thought this. Would it be so hard to mix a live metal band so it doesn't feel like you're being ear-raped with a chainsaw?

I've never done live sound for metal before, so i am genuinely asking that question.

Probably the greatest investment any ae can make. Your $5000 pres and comps don't mean shit if you lose the ability to listen critically. Hmm I'm hearing alot of 16k. Oh wait, what, we're doing bass?

Shiiiit.

+1000

I´ve got a pair of those and they are definitely worth the money.

+ another 1000

I've got custom moulded plugs with etyomic er-15 filters. Use them whenever I'm in a high volume situation, playing/watching gigs, in the car, even when doing live sound (get the mix sorted without the plugs and then put them in and just ride the levels)

Cost about £160 I think, WELL worth the money.

I use the the same ear plugs I shoot with at concerts. They are double sided. One side lets almost no sound through, and if you flip them they allow sound in but at lower level. They work great and cost like $5. Doesn't hamper any frequencies that bad either.

Going to live shows without earplugs is stupid. Permanent hearing damage is inevitable if youre in a room at 110dBSPL. I takes what, like, 4 seconds? Wear earplugs.

I've always thought this. Would it be so hard to mix a live metal band so it doesn't feel like you're being ear-raped with a chainsaw?

I've never done live sound for metal before, so i am genuinely asking that question.

Sometimes you can EQ it out, but a lot of it has to do with the room you're in, reflections and such. I always mix a song or two without my earplugs so I can tell if I'm "ear raping" the crowd or not :) most of the time the ridiculous piercing high end is from improperly EQ'd guitars

I use a pair of these with -15db attenuation:

er.jpg