Electropop cover - help with all the synths and balancing etc.

Morgan C

MAX LOUD PRESETS¯\(°_o)/¯
Apr 23, 2008
Sydney, Australia
www.myspace.com
I'm a total fucking noob when it comes to dialing in synth tones, composition, etc. so I decided to cover this song to hopefully help out. Used a bunch of synths, loads (too much) of processing. The ESQL free strings for the strings, but they're REALLY unstable so there's probably a few issues with them on export :/

ANY advice is much appreciated.. I have much to learn in this area, its WAY harder than you'd think.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/324723/OwlCity6.mp3

edit: chorus is pretty boring also.. the original chorus seems much more exciting but I can't hear much more going on. Wtf?!

I'll check this one out when I get back home in few hours...and don't panic, heavy processing and layering is needed most of the times in this style ;)

Sounds pretty damn good man. Vocals sound like they're getting a little swallowed in the chorus, at least for something poppy. Well done emulating those sounds!

Sounds pretty good, agree with the vocals getting buried in the chorus, maybe doubling it and "spreading" them during the chorus would help, but that depends on what kind of production route you want to take ;)

I also think the hihat is too prominent, and I would choose a 909 snare or a less "power" kinda snare, short decay one, kinda lofi, on the verses. But that's just what I would do ;)
The chorus has to explode in some way, so you have to "crap out" the verses a little bit IMO

P.S. I don't hear it really processed at all with the exception of the vocals, and it sounds a little dry for the style I think?

Sounds pretty good, agree with the vocals getting buried in the chorus, maybe doubling it and "spreading" them during the chorus would help, but that depends on what kind of production route you want to take ;)