ENGL Fireball for recording

Personally I really love mine in general. I'm no expert at recording so I can't comment too much, except, yes it seems to record really well. I haven't noticed that it is excessively fizzy, any fizz you get is normally down to the V30's. I recently tried the Sneap Edge single mic position and didn't even need to EQ out the V30 fizzage though, sounded great straight away. I found that any fizz I have had normally occurred when mic'ing dead on centre (1 of 2 mics in the Fredman technique for example). Apparently its really easy to use as a preamp with Impulses too, so far I haven't really tried that route, but it didn't work too well for me the couple of times I did. Don't be mistaken into thinking its just a stripped down version of the Powerball, its a different design. Although it has similar characteristics, it has a much better reputation overall.

The FireBall and PowerBall are slightly similar sounding at best. I have owned a PowerBall and always thought the two were essentially the same amp, just the PBall had more bells and whistles. Totally wrong. Check this clip that is Engl FireBall on left, Bugera 333 on the right, 1-track each @ 100% panning L/R. One SM57 on-axis, edge of dustcap/cone, 1/2" from grill on a Mesa oversized 4x12 with V30s. The clip is of a band I recorded a while back. I like the FireBall a lot more than my old PowerBall and may get one in the future to have sitting here for studio work.

~006