Fates Warning Suggestions?

Savage Pumpkin

AKA Mr. Future World
Sep 6, 2008
Skokie, IL
I know this may sound strange but I am new to Fates Warning. I went by Impulse Music right before they closed and all they had was "Perfect Symmetry" so I picked that up. So other than that, what should I pick up and in what order. Is there a place online that you would suggest ordering from? Thanks!

If you liked Perfect Symmetry, which is a milestone for prog metal, you should check out Parallels, where they took a more melodic approach. However, to me, their most amazing pieces of work are A Pleasant Shade of Gray and Disconnected. Truly progressive yet harder to internalize . . . but very rewarding.

Then again, Fates Warning is one of those bands with not a single bad album. The Arch era is also great. Fantastic singer.

Depends on your musical taste, which order to go in. You may want to start with "Chasing Time", which is a best-of compilation that covers albums up to Inside Out. That being said:

If you lean more towards Power, back track a bit. If you're more into Prog, move forward in the order of release. Here's a list with a brief description of each which will hopefully help:

Night on Bröcken (1984) - Iron Maiden influence is definitely there
The Spectre Within (1985) - Finding more of their own sound - some consider this their first real progressive-metal release with more complex song structures. Goes well with early Queensryche.
Awaken the Guardian (1986) - Frank Aresti replaces Victor Arduini on guitar. Some reviewers consider this one to be a Grandaddy of Progressive Metal.
No Exit (1988) - Ray Alder replaces John Arch on vocals. Not much of a departure, musically, from AtG... heavy and dark. 21 minute The Ivory Gate of Dreams in three letters - OMG
Perfect Symmetry (1989) - Mark Zonder replaces Steve Zimmerman on drums. Kevin Moore appears on keys. More complex drumming is evident throughout. Overall a much more sophisticated approach/sound.