Financing a Band / Earning a Living

Frank

Electric Monk
Jan 24, 2003
Painesville, Ohio
Visit site
I have very little specific knowledge, if any, of how much money a band actually earns from the sale of a CD or concert ticket, but it struck me the other day that it must take huge sales for a band like Enchant to break even.

This thought struck me as I read Ebass' comment that the members of Jadis have jobs.

Consider a yearly salary of $60,000, which isn't that much in today's world, especially in certain locations of the U.S.A. For each member to earn that, sales (CD, ticket, merchandise) would have to total $300,000!

But then you have to consider:

1. The band doesn't get 100% of the proceeds
2. Equipment must be purchased and maintained
3. Studio costs
4. Manufacturing costs

So... the actual amount of required income must be phenomenal!

Members of bands such as Enchant and Jadis, continue to put out excellent quality music, while maintaining jobs outside of the band. This has got to involve a delicate balance between family, music, and their jobs. I've greatly generalized it, but the financial requirements must be huge even if the rewards are small.

It's just incredible when I think about it.

Each Enchant CD we listen to has this huge financial burden between their love for making music, and our love of listening.

Well... that's my take on it..

Thanks for the music.

I find it deeply disturbing that people of brilliance are reduced to day jobs. Imagine going back in time and telling DaVinci that he had to stop working on his inventions and paintings in order to shovel manure.

Meanwhile there are other people in the world like "Hillary Duff" that do nothing but sing yet will still manage to pull in enough money from her career that she'll never have to do anything but sing for her entire life...if she were to live modestly, of course.