FIREPOD......... (Q)

Jul 31, 2010
Okay so i have noticed whenever im recording with my firepod i just do not get near as rich of a sound as some other get out of there audio interfaces.

i'm wondering if there is a preamp that i could get for it, or if i should just replace the firepod and get something new.

I just don't get a near as professional sound as i would like, i just want to know something i can get to make this a lot better.

im just new to learning about this kinda stuff.

any help would be much appreciated.
thanks.

What's your budget? What are you planning on recording? What is your current setup, do you have other outboard gear? What kind of monitors are you using?

Allot of things might be happening here, getting different gear won't necessarily get you a more professional sound. Although i would say that upgrading the Firepod to something like a Focusrite Pro 40 will definitely be an improvement, there might be other factors involved that are making you unhappy with your productions.

For example, if you are mainly looking to improve your mixing sound then room treatment, better monitors would be better than a new interface. If your tracking drums and your current mic locker isn't that good then you should get better mics, or have a look at some samples. You say your still new at this, maybe all you need is help with micing techniques. 95% of the time what your doing has a much greater impact on the end results than the gear your using.

If your doing things right and your still not satisfied, then that's when you should start looking at weak links in your gear. Nothing sucks more than spending lots of money a piece of gear thinking it would fix your problem, but it doesn't, and then down the road when you learn and get experience you regret your purchase.

What's your budget? What are you planning on recording? What is your current setup, do you have other outboard gear? What kind of monitors are you using?