First Mix Post - Addictive Drums/PODX3/ESP/Mastering

GATA4

Too Much Reverb
Dec 1, 2011
Texas
Hey everyone,

Here is a mix that I've been working on for a while. I used Addictive Drums (stock pieces for kick, snare, crash and Metal AdPak for the china) and my POD X3 to make it all come together. The guitars just have some EQ and compression applied for post processing (the tone itself is straight from the X3--no Pod Farm) and same foes for the bass guitar. This is my first time experimenting with the mastering process. I put a maximizer, compressor, and limiter on the master bus so I could try to glue everything together while still achieving loudness and fullness. I am pretty pleased with the way it's sounding, but it might be a little too powerful/in-your-face for me (I definitely won't be sticking with it for the long run). Please excuse the goofy sound clip at the beginning :lol: (and the boring/bland "test" riff--it was just something simple I came up with so I could loop it while mixing/mastering).

http://gata4.bandcamp.com/track/too-much-schwang-schwang-v30

(If anyone could inform me how to embed the bandcamp player on this page, I would be very grateful. I can get it to embed on sevenstring.org but not here for some reason).

EDIT - Forgot to mention that I also have a parametric EQ on the master bus which is boosting some higher frequencies for a little more clarity.

sounds fantastic!! i wish i could come even close to getting that mix.

Thanks a lot man! I'm glad someone else likes it haha. I've been working uber hard to get it to this point, but I still have so far to go. I'm always comparing my mix to those of other artists and there are just so many things I want to achieve!

I like the guitar tone, although it sounds a little scratchy, maybe a bit too much pre-amp gain. When the china hits come in, I'm hearing some weird artifacting.