Gary Gygax Passes Away

Rider of Theli

The Hellequin
Mar 1, 2004
Hiram, Ga
myspace.com
D20.gif
Ernest Gary Gygax, one of the most influential figures in gaming, died early this morning at his home in Lake Geneva, Wis. Gygax was 69. The earliest report appeared on his publisher Troll Lord Games' forum. Full Article found here.

And on a personal note, I was able to briefly meet what many consider the Founding Father of Dungeons & Dragons in 2001 at the only GenCon I have ever attended. I shook his hand and said with a proud smile "Thanks, I have been playing D&D for almost 20 years." To which he shook his head and replied jokingly, "I am so sorry." :zombie: :lol:

He seemed very genuine with a kind soul. And I sincerely appreciate the years of gaming fun he helped provide to me and so many friends I have met through the game for the past 25 years.

Cheers to you Gary as you cross the Great Divide!

/edit/ just found this info on Yahoo

One of my friends posted in her LJ with a link that said "Gary Gygax fails his FORT roll" XD I think he would appreciate the humor, all the same.

All joking aside, this is sad news. :(

Man that sucks! I still remember being 12 years old in 1982 and taking two buses by myself for the first time alone. I had a $20 bill which was at the time more money than I ever had in my life. I went to the hobby store and bought the hard cover Dungeons And Dragons: Dungeon Master Guide by Gary Gygax. Thanks to him my creativity still exists. Rest in peace Gary!

Yes, Gary failed his final saving throw. I'm kinda bummed.

I met him at Dragon*Con back in 1987 -- he was one of the big Gaming guests, along with Richard "Lord British" Garriott -- and he was exceptionally cool in person. He was also very kind to a friend of mine, then 13, who was 'killed off' by Gary himself in the Celebrity Role-Playing Round-Robin tournament.

Travel gently, Gary. We'll miss you...and no die roll is needed to determine THAT sentiment.
rose.gif