Guitar recording with EQ

Genius Gone Insane

http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com
Aug 19, 2003
San Francisco Bay Area
www. ̄\(°_o)
Friends,

I've got a 5150 and have been recording straight to my Digi001 with no effects except I do use a tube screamer pedal to get some mud out.

When my band rehearses, both guitarists use a rack equalizer. I've heard that it's better to not use the EQ when recording because you can always EQ it after recording. Is it worth it to try recording with the EQ?

You're probably asking, "why don't you just try it Genius?" but it's pretty inconvenient in my situation to put it mildly. Do you guys ever record with EQ?

Thanks!

If we all played by the same rules it'd get very boring...

IMHO Just get a sound you like coming out of the Amp, whether that be EQ'd or whatever and record that. I mean kill the obvious boomy/harsh stuff, but that's about it.

I'm no expert, but that's what I do. I think it's easier to kill bad frequencies in the mixing stage than have to try and rescue something that isn't there later on...

Whatever you do, don't use reverb on the rhythm tracks ...LOL !!

For guitars, find the best possible tone from tweaking the amp and whatever rack gear/pedals you have(including your EQ). Don't use too many effects before though, as you can add better ones after. Try to use a noise suppressor/HUSH device in your signal chain to minimize noise, especially if you have extra devices other than your amp that the signal is going through. As soon as you get the best sound out of the amp, put the mic(s) up and begin moving it/them around till you hear the same or better tone fromt he monitors/headphones. The best possible situation would be where you wouldn't have to really do anything in terms of EQ, just little edits for noise, and compression.