Guitarists....i need your help

Tough As Steel

a.k.a. Aussie Dave
Feb 12, 2002
Canberra
Visit site
I am a beginner, and would like to know if this is a good guitar...

ultramaticview_video_of__th.jpg

It's a Greg Bennett (Samick) Ultramatic.

Ok, first I' like to say that I have no experience w. Samick whatsoever. I do own a Vantage (now owned by Samick), but mine is a pre-Samick model.

Second - it's hard to say just by looking at a pic (that probably is touched up) and a list of specs if it's a good guitar or not. Only hands on experience from someone who knows guitars can tell you that.

From what I can see, I can tell you this:
* Fixed bridge - good. As a beginner, the last thing you need to concern yourself with are floating bridges...IMO.
* Grover tuners - should be good. Grover is a brand name, and I _think_ that in terms of quality, they're up there with Schaller and Gotoh.
* They don't mention anything about the pickups. I checked at Samicks web-page too, and it just says "HB" (humbuckers). This probably means that the pickups are crap and that you'll want to replace one or two of them later. The good thing is that with humbuckers, there are a wide range of high-power replacements you can get.

It looks like a guitar you can grow with - but to make sure, you should dig out someone with a bit of knowledge and let him/her play it before you purchase. If that's not an option, try finding reviews on it on the web. Google is a good starting point.

Good luck,

I've played a few Samicks, ranging from half-assed to really decent quality.

Not bad for a beginner guitar though. I'd agree with Sunbane.

There's basically three types of necks. You got your bolt on which, well, bolts on. You got neck thru, which means that the guitar and the neck are kind of built together, or the guitar is built around the neck (I now what I mean but I don't really know how to explain it). And you got your set neck. This means the neck is glued onto the body instead of bolted.