Guitarists listening to Opeth

TattooAnt

Nov 3, 2005
Oxford, UK
Since getting into metal and playing guitar as a youngster, i've realised I have 2 modes of listenening to music: either just listening to it whilst relaxing, or playing my guitar along to what i'm listening to. I'm quite a competant guitarist and can play approx 50% of all Opeth's stuff properly, so I really get a kick out of playing my guitar along to their CDs. However i've found that songs I consider to be my favourites whilst playing my guitar along to them are different to the ones I like best when just listening without the guitar. I've found this with most other bands too.
Just wondering if anyone else was like this?

I'm a guitarist, but I can't hope to play Opeth's music (maybe Harvest :lol: ) nor would I attempt- I'm no shredder, I have my own style and enjoy it. Still, I do like to hear the guitar parts of Opeth because they are indeed quite cool.

TattooAnt said:
Since getting into metal and playing guitar as a youngster, i've realised I have 2 modes of listenening to music: either just listening to it whilst relaxing, or playing my guitar along to what i'm listening to. I'm quite a competant guitarist and can play approx 50% of all Opeth's stuff properly, so I really get a kick out of playing my guitar along to their CDs. However i've found that songs I consider to be my favourites whilst playing my guitar along to them are different to the ones I like best when just listening without the guitar. I've found this with most other bands too.
Just wondering if anyone else was like this?

I also enjoy playing along with the cds, but I tend to play my favorite Opeth songs, as decided when only listening. Playing along just makes them better. So my favorite songs are the same in both 'modes'.