Your Top 5 Bass Guitarists Of All Time

Lietuvis

Dec 2, 2005
Tempe, AZ and Vilnius, Lithuania
I've been playing guitar for the past 4 years, and my attention has always been focused on the lead guitar in all the rock and metal bands that I listen to...

So, I have been trying to listen to bass more and more in the past year, I'm even thinking of building a bass, once I finish building the V that I'm building. I've really come to appreciate bass players... I will also probably start playing bass, along with guitar.

My top 3 bassists(sorry, but I don't know enough about bass yet to pick 5)

Jaco Pastorius - A true innovator of the bass. I consider him the Hendrix of bass guitarists... nobody that I have heard can match his unique style of playing.

Martin Mendez - Of course, I love him for his work in Opeth, but I also think that he is an immensely underrated bassist. If only they could mix their albums so that his playing would be a little easier to hear.

Geezer Butler - Being a huge Sabbath fan, I obviously admire his work with the band. I think he has had the largest influence on me... I usually judge most bass players using him as a standard... if you know what I mean.

Please contribute to this thread... I really want to learn more about bass. :)

Geddy Lee.
The guy not only plays great basslines, but he manages to sing at the same time, alternately banging out melodies on a synthesizer. Amazing.
Jaco Pastorius.
No explanation required. The best bass player I have ever heard.
Stu Hamm
He's pretty fast. Usually to be found touring with Vai or Satriani, he adds a lot to the songs.
Tony Levin
Bozzio/Levin/Stevens & Liquid Tension Experiment. period.
spot #5 reserved for a huge list of Jazz bassists.

Wooten & Miller also deserve a mention for being amazingly talented.

Not to be an ass, but could you guys add a brief explanation of why you picked them? ...or maybe a recommendation of their music?