Guitarists listening to Opeth

Dante's Inferno said:
It's these chords I suck at, they sound awful when I play them:
x
How do you guys mute the middle-string?
In that example I just fret the 8 and the 6 with two fingers and similarly pick those two strings with two fingers of my right hand. Not sure if that's the recomended method, but it works for me (the trick is to be able to switch between using a plectrum and then your fingers).

almost play

but instead of your index finger being flat, raise it up a little bit, still in contact with the middle string....this mutes it..just keep practicing holding down the middle string with your index finger, it becomes normal after a while.

I do that, except when they are played on acoustic I prefer to finger pick the 2 because the pick playing the dead string usually makes a gay noise.

I've been playing guitar for 3 years now... and I've recently begun playing Opeth stuff. I'm probably good enough to play any of their songs(except for some of the überfast solos) with enough practice, but I don't want to learn TOO many of their songs.(I want to keep my own signature style)

TattooAnt said:
Since getting into metal and playing guitar as a youngster, i've realised I have 2 modes of listenening to music: either just listening to it whilst relaxing, or playing my guitar along to what i'm listening to. I'm quite a competant guitarist and can play approx 50% of all Opeth's stuff properly, so I really get a kick out of playing my guitar along to their CDs. However i've found that songs I consider to be my favourites whilst playing my guitar along to them are different to the ones I like best when just listening without the guitar. I've found this with most other bands too.
Just wondering if anyone else was like this?