hard to play ever gets easier?

Misanthrope

Latin, NOT Mexican.
Oct 11, 2001
My House.
www.i-mockery.com
I recently decided to play the andy laroque solo in Death's all mighty trapped in a corner...boy its some pretty hard stuff....I have a correct tab i have all the time yet some parts are just too fast but i do not understand why i cannot play them. My solos are faster i play as fast as mr. schuldiner on my fast parts but i have trouble playing other people's solos expect chuck ones...i have a hard time playing cheese megadeth solos from martin on hangar 18 yet i can play something as fast as the spirit crusher solo...any experimented guitar players that could give me some pointers?

Well, it's a commonly taught idea that restraint on a guitar is much more difficult than speed. I don't know how true this is, but I can agree with it to a certain extent. The two techniques are very different, which is why you may find chuck's solos easier than LaRoque's. Chuck is self-taught, and plays a more simplistic style, though it seems faster in many ways (mostly due to the use if tremeolo picking and tapping).

LaRoque (I don't know if he's trained, but he sure as hell has some kick-ass technique for someone who isn't) has a more structured and complex style. His solos are very off the wall and almost classicaly oriented. They require less conventional fingerings and runs than your average metal solo. I personally find LaRoque's Solo in this particular song easier to play, but then again, my style if playing is pretty odd.