Easy Opeth songs to play

Oct 10, 2002
Illinois
Visit site
Seems like a fair number of people on this forum can play Opeth songs. I'm not very good at guitar and was wondering if you guys could suggest some easy songs to play. Nothing from damnation plz.
Heres what i have tried:
the night and the silent water - cant even play the first riff fast enough
forest of october - can play like 2 minutes into song then too hard
deliverance - just confuses me....
to bid u farewell - sweeping is hard for me
those are the songs ive made a fairly decent effort on
so any suggestions would be great

Forest of October is actually one of their HARDEST songs to play (like that riff under the fast solo!), terrible recommendation there! Haha. The intro's easy, sure, but many other things are NOT.

I'd say try "The Drapery Falls" or "Bleak," they both have some stuff that's hard for beginners but are pretty easy overall. Same deal with "Dirge for November." Wreath isn't very hard, it's just sort of fast for a beginner...same deal with most of the rest of that album (though I'd say the song Deliverance is definitely not very easy, some of those riffs are pretty hard to play!).

Oh, and "To Bid You Farewell" is pretty easy ,but it doesn't sound real good by itself. There's no sweeping? There's that one rake in the solo? Just finger it like a chord and upstroke it, it will sound close to right. Just play the rhythm stuff for now maybe.

And demon of the fall is pretty damn hard (the "demon of the fall" riff anyway).

I have a hard time relating here cause I knew how to play guitar pretty well before I got into Opeth ;P

I learned Forest of October very early into my playing... I don't really understand what parts are challenging... minus the solos, which with a bit of work also open up.

I'd recommend Patterns in the Ivy. It's a very calming track that won't piss you off as you repeatedly play through it. It's great for building finger-picking skill.