Hi, I'm a newbie

Dewey Barnard

New Metal Member
Nov 28, 2020
HOW TO SEW SILK LIKE A PRO

Silk has always been the icon of smoothness and luxury, ever since the first roll made it out of the East.

Soft and smooth, silk is arguably the queen of all fabric. However, to master the art of working on silk, one needs a lot of trial and errors, and good preparation.

There is no short cut to a wonderful silk projects, just hard work and experience. To guide you on your way to conquer silk, I have gathered my knowledge and experience down below.

Your best cheap sewing machine for beginners can handle the job just fine. In case you haven’t had a machine yet,
Fk7YO68.gif
click here for more sewing machine reviews.

Step 1: The preparation

Even before you pick up your scissors or needles, you have to focus on the pre-treatment first. Silk is as exotic as it can get, so special care is required.

Pre-wash your garment in the way you would treat your finished product. Silk tends to sink so do your research first. Silk is not something you can stuff into the washing machine and still comes out intact. Pay attention to the label. If the label states “dry clean only”, don’t wash it.

Silk can get a watermark so when you press it, set the iron at low heat and make sure it’s dry. Protect your garment by a presser cloth is advisable.

T5YuDud.png

Test your needle, stitch size, and tension on a piece of scrap before applying them on the main project. When you are happy with the result, pre-wash the garment. You cannot be too careful, so purchase extra garment so that you have something to try on.

Many of new sewists wonder if they have to buy a special sewing machine to sew silk.

My answer is no. That’s not necessary.

Step 2: Cutting the fabric

Silk is smooth. That is one of its many advantages.

However, its smoothness also means it is super slippery. You know what can happen when dealing with this kind of fabric. Your scissors can go off course easily.