How did you into the music business...

I the music business.....???

but seriously, i started playing in a band with some guys in school, our school organised a small project where we would be recorded, i wasnt happy with the results (uber-naive teenager), went to college to get a diploma in playing bass (LOL) along the way we were given basic production techniques, recording to dat-tapes, mic'ing drums, using analogue desks, etc... i took a massive interest in it, went from there... that was about 7 years ago

I bought a pair of chinese studio monitors and put them on both sides of my computer screen, then I took a photo and put it on myspace and called myself a producer.

Pretty much this

Wanted to record
DI guitars and programmed drums (stock plugins) were bad so we buy a mic and interface
One SM57 for the drums sounds like shit WTF!
Find this site...
??? (a year and a half passes)
Profit?

+1 this site especially (big thanks to iamandy :kickass: this beers for you)

I also got sick of the guys who were actually doing the production course at the college, tell me how it should sound and saying if i want it to sound different, i should record it myself...

I kinda miss the tape recording days... i don't miss the lack of tracks to record to... 16 tracks is barely enough for drum tracking

Played guitar
Got in a shit band
Recorded at the shittest local studios
Decided i'm better than these people
Started recording my own stuff
Sounded like shit
Discovered forum
Sounded a bit better but still shit
Started Music Tech BTEC
Learnt nothing
Still shit

My buddys dad owns a stage lighting/live sound company...they needed an extra person on a job one day...liked the way i worked...been working there ever since, i started out mainly doing just the lighting and then a few months ago they started to transition me over to the audio end