How do you pan your drums?

Yeah, I also feel really uncomfortable when listening to audience perspective.. I have to pretend he's got his hi-hat/ride switched around for some reasons, or is a left-hand drummer. I just can't imagine it from audience perspective. Also makes it really hard to work out what they're playing if they're playing intricate stuff on the toms, cos its all backwards.

The way I see it, a drummer or air-drummer will notice the difference and want a drummer-perspective.. a guitarist, etc. or just a person who doesn't play music will probably not even notice it.

I would like to kill the first person who panned the snare dead center, I still find it very odd because I'm a drummer myself.

In real life that is not possible, either you have the bassdrum or the snare dead center, not both, therefor, for a more true natural sound you'd have to pan the snare a bit to the left (drummer perspective) but very few people do it that way. It just sounds weird because we are used to the centered sound, I guess.

I would like to kill the first person who panned the snare dead center, I still find it very odd because I'm a drummer myself.

In real life that is not possible, either you have the bassdrum or the snare dead center, not both, therefor, for a more true natural sound you'd have to pan the snare a bit to the left (drummer perspective) but very few people do it that way. It just sounds weird because we are used to the centered sound, I guess.

Yeah, this occurred to me from looking at the above pic Ahj posted (cuz it probably wouldn't have otherwise :D), but you're right, at this point if the snare on an album were to be a little to the left it'd drive me bonkers!

Drummer here using audience perspective.

I prefer that the listeners feel too rubbish to be in the band and are therefore stuck in the audience. :p

audience pan