How do you use one shot snares?

EmilDelaRosa

New Metal Member
Jul 20, 2011
Recently I've been reading a lot of articles and seeing that there's a lot of engineers who incorporate one shots with their drum sound. See I've never tried blending samples before. I either commit to the source drum sound or replace it completely with a different sample.

Here's some of my questions:
1. Do I just duplicate the track and trigger the dup with a one shot sample, and then blend to taste with levels?
2. Should I match the tuning as well?
3. How do I make sure that it doesn't fuck up my drum mix?

Please let me know if there's something else that I should be aware of. Thanks!

When I do it, I usually mix by around 50/50 % with the dry and wet signals. The exact percentage depends on the two sounds, but usually around 50 %.
Nothing else (re-pitching or such).

Judging from your question #1, usually the trigger software has a blend adjustment. You don't need to duplicate tracks yourself.

Ive made a shortcut in reaper so that i 'copy' a one shot, then when i press the shortcut key it pastes the sample at the next transient on the track below the selected one. I find this a great way of making the phase very accurate. generally ill have it like 20% one shot, 80% other (multi sample/real snare) sometimes if it doesnt sound right, i have to flip the phase then it's all sweet!

I usually blend in about 30% or so for a one shot. Depends on each project really. Been using Massey DRT or Trigger. Trigger has a tuning function if you need to adjust it, but I feel like most people just choose one that works with the overall sound, as opposed to freaking out trying to tune it all together. It can be a great idea to get the reverb from just the one shot, as it will be very consistent and not contain any bleed.

1. Do I just duplicate the track and trigger the dup with a one shot sample, and then blend to taste with levels?