How to get loud master?

bryan_kilco

Nov 22, 2007
Poconos, PA
While I've been searching and researching on this topic, I still don't know a whole heck of a lot about it. Is it absolutely necessary to need external gear to achieve a "comercial" level master? Or does it lie within expensive plug-ins?

It seems most people are only using slight EQ, Comp, and limiter in their Master chain, and I feel I have a pretty loud master, then come in here and listen to some of your guys mixes (not even mastered) and they blow mine ("home mastered") right away. o_O

g-clip is sometimes the only thing i'll have on my master bus. The most important thing is making sure the mix has a good balance, and that no particular frequency range is eating up your headroom.

I don't want to discourage you, but a loud master doesn't come from the mastering gear (be it plugins or hardware). The maximum loudness potential lies in the mix. If the mix is good, any limiter will get it up to "commercial loudness".
This GS thread might be a good read as well.
If I don't get my mixes to full loudness, I know that I need to go back to the mix.

thank you all! I think most of my problem lies in my low end and maybe my mid-high end.....I played around in Mono and EQ'd a bit to bring a bit more life to the mix, then switched to Stereo and it definitely made a big difference, especially in the wideness of the guitars.

I have a question though....say, in Reaper, your Master meter at 0.0 dB and above by, I think 6 dB(?) is a yellow or tan area in the meter, before the red....

Now, when trying to achieve maximum loudness, should I still be keeping that meter below 0.0 dB, even though my limiter is in action? Im sorry if this isn't making sense....I just wasnt sure if the little tan/yellow area in the meter was representing headroom or if it was a "bad" sign.