I - bIII - V (Chord construction)

Plendakor

Oct 30, 2010
Why learn many many chords when you can learn the easy invariable concept called "intervals" and use them to construct chords ?

My friend went to the "Berkley" of my place and really insisted that I should not learn chords from a poster or something. I mean, I've been playing for about 13 years, I know basic chords and wanted to move to some jazz chords and stuff. He said "construct them" and I was like "yeah wtf hey..." Then he said I only needed to know intervals, which I did.

I learned intervals 10 years ago and only now do I know what to use them for.

It's nice to know that the Third/minor Third decide if it's a major or minor chord. That type of thing.

I'm a little curious to know how many of you already know this and if not who would be interested to.

I've learned them before I started to play an instrument... mainly because I started composing in midi and than learned to play.... and also funny thing many musicians have no idea about scales and chords and how they are related :-D

I know intervals and thought music theory I know by myself through analyzing guitar pro tabs etc.
I know how to recognize minor from major by it's third. I can construct some chords not knowing name of it (only know how look min, maj, min7, maj7 and add9), but jazz is something I can't understand.
i would like to know what I have to do to play at least simple stuff that sound like jazz.

Yeah that's pretty basic knowledge. Intervals is right in there with music theory 101. All chords are made up of them as well as all structures of music. It couldn't flow without intervals happening. Otherwise it'd just be a continuous single note drone Lol.