Ihsahn-The Adversary

~Derek~

Sep 9, 2006
Tennessee
What do all of you think of Ihsahn-The Adversary? I gave up on this CD a year and a half ago, none of it matched up with the single "Invocation" and it was too much filler(keep in mind filler referring to musical parts I dislike, it may be good prog but I'm not a prog fan) so I put it away despite it having a couple good songs, a couple ok ones, and a couple ones I didn't care for.
A year and a half later, before I put this up for bid on Ebay, I decided to give it a chance, and relisten to the whole CD. And that I have done, and of course nothing on the CD matches Invocation, if it did this would be one of my favorite CD's. The best songs are Invocation, And He Shall Walk in Empty Places, and Citizen, with Will You Love Me Now? falling behind those, and way too many parts I could care less for such as the songs Homecoming and tHe Pain is Still Mine and generally the CD's lacking in fulfilling my listening want. With songs like Called By The Fire and Astera Ton Proinon having it's slight moments, this still is disappointing to me, but it has its moments, not very good but it has good songs, but 4 good songs out of 9 songs doesn't really do it for me, I'm not sure if I'll sell this on Ebay or not, I may keep it for the occasional listens of Invocation and Citizen and to learn those songs on guitar, either way, a 5-6/10 seems about right to me for this CD.

Yeah, pretty mediocre. Flashes of brilliance were scattered throughout but, yeah, it disappointed me. Sort of sounded like a less extreme and much worse Prometheus (which i enjoyed).

I thought it was pretty good. I didn't think emperor was any thing other than a bunch of guys trying to hard to make chaotic arrangements sound cool. The adversary had solid riffs and some great lead work not to mention Ihsahn did a good job producing it. Just don't think of it as an emperor album and I think you'll be ok.