Im a newb to tuning

Brakk

May 15, 2007
Ive always had an E tuner that I use on the biggest string, and then tune all the other strings starting from there by ear.. and I know about all that

But lately ive been getting curious about types of tunings.. mostly I play thrash so my tuning always matched up with the songs, but when I want to play death metal I cant because im tuned too high.

So basically what Im wondering is, what are the names of tunings?
What tuning do most death metal bands use?

What is a good priced tuner that I can tune my guitar with?

get a $20 korg tuner, they have them in every guitar store. It'll do downtuning as well.

Standard is E A D G B E
One step down is D G C F A D
And so on...easy to figure out.
You can also just tune to D A D G B E (drop D), which will allow you to play root 6 power chords with one finger. A lot of thrashy dudes use this. Personally, I prefer having the whole guitar being in the same tuning, so I usually tune to standard or D. Personal preference.

Anyhow, a Korg tuner will cover you down to B. You can also get a chromatic tuner pedal from Boss, which is more expensive. Those will do anything. A Korg tuner is my recommendation.

Bands that use D:
Vital Remains
Necrophagist
Motley Crue

I assume with VR and Necrophagist that this is only on some songs

Bands that use C:
Bullet for my Emo
Avenged 7x
Children of Bodom
Chimaira
Devildriver
Disturbed
Job for a cowboy
Killswitch Engage
Mudvayne
Rammstein
Shadows Fall

Most (not all) of these bands suck...notice a general pattern?
Note that most of these bands alternate with D

Bands that use B
Limp Bizkit
Through The Eyes Of The Dead
Machinehead

Drop A:
Nile
Nasum
Shitnot

Anyhow...most death metal bands are probably gonna be in C, but you don't have to just to get a heavy sound. The right distortion settings will take care of it...