I'm looking for some career guidance

cloy26

d00d
Jul 17, 2009
Port St. Lucie, FL
www.myspace.com
So, I'm a sophomore at a local state college. I'm getting my AA right now and planning on going for business. However, after the 2 year struggle, I am not happy. I gave business a chance, and I understand it just fine, but I don't enjoy it. I do not want to sit behind a desk all day and file meaningless paper work. Starting college, I really wanted to do music/music business/recording. Well, there isn't a great opportunity for that, at least as opposed to a general business degree. However, like I said, I'm sick of it and after 2 years, I think I want to make the jump into something I will actually enjoy doing for my occupation. I obviously enjoy working with sound and recording. I was thinking about heading somewhere to pursue that. However, I don't really know what the job outlook for that is. I wouldn't be opposed to anything. Working maybe at a theme park (I live in Florida and plan on moving to Orlando in 5 months) running sound or anything along those lines. I know you can't just jump into a studio, but I wouldn't mind getting my foot in somewhere as a "do boy".

I just want to enjoy my life, and I think that enjoying everyday is a bit better than looking down at a few extra dollars on your paycheck.

Is it something you go to school for? I mean, how did you guys (assuming there *are* people in the business here) start out? I live close to Full Sail University, but have been warned to stay away. 2 of my band mates go there and they love it, but it doesn't seem worth the 75k you pay for tuition...

I apologize if there have been a lot of threads on this before, I couldn't find them. I wouldn't even know what to search for. But again, thank you for any input that you guys might have. :kickass: