improvement and consistency???

Nov 30, 2008
Canada
hey i was wondering who could help me out cause this is really buggin me. First off improvement, for some reason i have stopped improving with guitar, i have been playing for two years, (about 6 months kindve seriously), and i went from better to better to better and so on throughout the two years, but now i have just stopped improving these past 3ish months, no matter what i practise or do i cant seem to get any better, and it is really pissing me off. ahaah. i was really getting into guitar and excited how i was improving so quickly untill i hit this brick wall. anyone have any experience with this, or got any tips?

secondly im not very consistent when i play guitar, sometimes i can do everything so cleanly and precise and others not so much. I can be feeling perfectly good and play shitty, and be hungover, tired and sick and play my best. very confused. i think the problem could be i dont warm up. Is this a effect of not warming up before i play? if so, does anyone know some good warmups i can do before playing?

thanks a bunch
peace

same thing happened to me.
and yes, warmup helped alot, i developed a couple of alternate picking, string skipping, sweep and tapping exercises, and i just do each one of those at different tempos, going gradually higher and higher, i dont do this all the time, although i try too. but for me, whenever i do this to warmup, my playing is always cleaner, tighter and more consistent.

ALWAYS have a slow part in your practice sessions and warm ups. especially for sweeping, do it slow and practice on muting. and if you really want a boring exercise, then do that with a metronome. it feels so lame, but it helps you so much. like Yaow said, develop your own exercises and find different ways to challenge your figners.