Interface Upgrade or Preamp?

Sep 2, 2010
Ok guys, want some more feedback. Looking to possibly upgrade my interface. I've been using a DigiDesign Mbox for a few years now (it's pretty old, was given to me). Before that I had a Presonus Firebox (firewire). That blew up, possibly blew a fuse I'm not sure, and I switched to the Mbox as a back up. I never got around to repairing the Firebox.

A vocalist I work with has given me access to a TC Electronic Impact Twin interface which has good reviews but is a little old as well and also firewire. From what I understand, Firewire is becoming outdated and I don't want to be trapped with something that cannot grow along with possible computer upgrades as well in the future. I'm using PC. I do have a mac but do not use it and I'd like to stick w the PC route and custom build a good workhorse computer for music production.

I hear really great things about UAD Apollo Twin (and their products in general) but again, MAC - Thunderbolt...not the best path for me. The MAC I do have doesn't have Thunderbolt anyway.

What I use an interface for is to record guitar (usually mic'd amp), bass (direct), vocals (clean), and would want midi capability for keys and stuff. I'm looking for something with a good quality preamp in it that would add clarity and warmth to vocals. Make them shine more than the mbox can. I also would prefer something portable as I don't always track at home on a desktop. I know technology is always changing but USB seems pretty constant. I don't want to fall for some buzzword "firewire" "lightning bolt" "thunderbolt" only to have it not be compatible w certain computers in the future.

Any recommendations? Am I better off getting just a preamp? A new interface AND a preamp? It seems Focusrite makes some good stuff...

Thanks!

Interesting, I'll look into it. Thanks! And when I say portable I mean non-rack unit. Doesn't necessarily have to fit in one's pocket haha.