Is there such a thing as "original" sound?

MetalManCPA

Papa Opeth
May 19, 2001
Visit site
Kind of a stupid question, but not being a writer, I'm curious:

With all of the music out there, do writers block out all they've heard and create their own sound which is then seemingly always compared to other bands, or..

Do you consciously (or unconsciously) take pieces of others music (like a puzzle) and use these pieces to create your own sound (which again, gets compared to other bands anyways)?

Honestly, most people I discuss music with always want to compare a band to something else they've heard, and I'm not sure it's fair to do that. It takes away from the artistic talent of the band you are listening to.

Well im sure ur talking about influence.
I have a little trick im going to share with you.
Or at least thats how I draw my influence from bands i guess.

Lets say I have 3 or 4 bass riffs/lines that I just made up.
And i dont know how to put them together and such.
Now lets say im going to listen to Opeth for some influences.
What I do, is that I listen to how Johan or Martin did their own bass lines. Now, remember I just said 'how' they did it, not 'what they did'. Then, lets take the exemple of To Bid You Farewell. Johan varies alot with his bass lines on the 1st 3 minutes of the song. Now I take my bass lines, and I try to vary them.

Thats an exemple of how I personally draw my influences to try to make my own music.

Another exemple is to use a higher key on your guitar or bass and try to alternate between the lower and higher one like alot of musicians do.

Anyways, a fine way to really get an original sound is to know how to draw an influence and not do it wrong.

NP: Darkthrone - Skald Av Satans Sol