Jens Bogren info

B36arin

Dec 1, 2008
Alright guys, since I learn stuff off this forum every day and have done for a long time I thought I'd give some info back. I'm studying audio engineering in Sweden, and I went to visit Fascination Street Studios last Thursday to see Jens Bogren's studio and learn a bit about how he works. We were there for a few hours, so it'd be impossible for me to sum up everything, but I'll try to share some of the stuff that he shared with me. He's probably my favourite producer at the moment, and I'm quite sure that there are quite a few Bogren admirers on here :)

Jens rarely records stuff anymore, he works on one big production a year, and mixes the rest of the time. He built a new studio two years ago, but since he mostly does mixing and mastering nowadays he doesn't have a huge live room. He has a fantastic control room with Barefoot monitors and lots of really, really tasty outboard. The control room and speaker setup sounds very honest and clear, as you would expect. It's specifically designed so that he can do mastering in there as well. He mixes at high volumes. He has a small live room too, which is acoustically treated, and sounds really good. But he usually records drums out of the house, the drums on Soilwork's latest album were recorded in a church!

He pretty much always uses drum bus compression. He uses Waves VComp as the first compressor on the bus to get the transients to pop a little more and he then uses a hardware 1178 to smash the bus. He only recently got his 1178, before that he used a stereo 1176 or some plugin emulation of an 1176.