Just Curious...

Dave - Power of Omens

some guitar player
Aug 13, 2002
Dallas, TX USA
powerofomens.com
There are so many great bands out there, and each one of them approach writing music in a different way. When you listen to music, or check out new bands, what do you listen for? What to you, makes up the formula for a great band? What makes you go, "DAMN!!! This band really kicks ass!!!!"????

Just Curious.... :)

Dave

Musicianship

I demand that the instrumentalists perform with technical proficiency and passion.

Coherent song structures (songcraft is paramount)

Talented vocalist (unless it's an instrumental band) who has a versatile range of expression and is convincing

Being a drummer myself... the drums must be interesting... not the same boom-chick-boom-chick... I also like interesting bass... no duh-duh-duh-duh-duh-duh-duh... too many bands neglect these instruments...

Well, I am no musician, but I know what I like. The vocals play a big part for me. Personally, I like death type vocals the most. Black metal vocals get old real fast. Clean vocals have to be stellar to keep me interested, ie the prog metal band Wolverine.

Great guitar work is also a necessity. Nothing boring and rehashed.

As far as drums, just keep it interesting and varied.

Wheee, hard question...Of course I don't have an exact definition and so I can only try to explain it... Musicianship is not THAT important to me ( excludes songwriting here..! )! Better solid music with energy in it than abstract and technically high skilled music without soul or drive...And it has to contain a special "feeling" that makes the music enjoyable...it has to be a well balanced combination of several elements: it has to be without constraint, natural, serious ( "from the heart" ) and, to a certain degree, it should be varied ( songwriting )...
--->EXPRESSIVENESS

:)

Really tough....