Lessons

Status
Not open for further replies.

flying_whale

Rome 64 C.E.
May 17, 2006
Seattle,Wa
www.myspace.com
So, did any of you take guitar lessons? Just wondering.
I took for 2 months lessons from a friend to get me started, and since then I'm self taught, but i still suck none the less.

P.S.
Steve, when you start your internet lesson thingy, you can be sure that i will be your student in the art of shredding.
I got tired of being alone by myself with my guitar, so i think that until i take lessons the only thing i can study is learning solos and getting my alternate picking skill up a little.

Took a class in school where I basically sat around and worked on something I found amusing while the other people were learning the difference between a G and an A chord. Took four private lessons with the same guy a while later, considering going back to get a different perspective on improvisation, but I must say that I learned more from John Petrucci's Rock Discipline than anything else.

Jeff

lordofthesewers said:
is rock discipline just a book that shows licks and arpeggios or has some text along with the licks explaining the theory behind the licks, phrasing and soloing strategies he uses?

Rock Discipline is a DVD/VHS/book. It's not really about what you said, it's more just showing you licks/fragments to use in solos. He goes through a few techniques used for fast playing (alt picking. legato, sweep picking). There's also a section on extended chords and how you can use them. I'm pretty certian you'd find it very informative.