Mixing way to Hot...

Jul 15, 2006
Kenton, OH
www.myspace.com
Already I know i have been mixing hot for a couple of years now....And Since My ears i guess are becoming more trained because my stuff is starting to sound like shit to me.....It just sounds Fried and slammed
the user ahjteam had this to say----(and i agree with every word)
The whole mix is just a bit too slammed to my taste, because it gets really exhausting to listen to the mix because the 1-6khz gets really in your face, my ears were pretty much shot after 2 rounds.

Also because of the slamming, the lowend sounds a bit thin and kick and snare attack sound a bit harsh, you could lower them a bit. I know the bass is there, but I can't tell a single note it is playing (edit: I take that back, I heard the bass at the very end when the guitars dropped out ). It could have a bit more definition and low end.

here is the mix. i posted it in the rate mix section a few weeks back...
http://files.getdropbox.com/u/637857/burnthereplicamix12.mp3

I'm not going to lie when i take the limiter off its prolly going 4-6dbs in the red....that's disgusting i know . I have been mixing with getting volume in mind...So i don't have to push the Master that hard.....But it's like i get to a point where i just can't hear things...Like even when i turn the fader up ...it makes no difference ...everything is slammed......i know i know turn things down....I'm currently remixing the project and looking to pick up some tips on the way.

To me my guitars sound so awful in the mids and it sounds like there slammed basically lol....ARGGH so frustrating
most people would be satisfied with my mix but i'm not I want to be better.

So a better way would be to go at the compressor/gclip/limiter at softer more even level and then boost a little harder in the mastering(gclip/limiter)

I don't really understand this theory, someone explain slower for the dumb how mixing at a lower level can give you louder and bigger sounding mixes.