More money talk

NSGUITAR

Oct 26, 2009
Hey guys.

I typically charge $175 per song/day for a band to record (I give them an option of per song or per day).

Today I've recieved 2 inquiries about full length albums; one is 10 songs, one is 12.

In this case, would you guys typically charge a 'package' rate rather than song? Maybe bump $25 off per song if they do the math kind of deal? I'm not sure, as I've never done a full album before so your advice is much needed.

thanks!

-Nick

I would really consider a per hour rate for everything if you are doing an album. It would suck to get burned financially because the band can't play correctly or wants a bunch of things changed, etc. But I would definitely make it a package deal. Anything over 6 hours and you give a bit of a decrease in your rate or something like that.

Do your per-day rate, this will make sure you still get paid for the time you're putting in. Also, it'll inherently represent a discount for the band because you only have to set things up once, which will cut down on the total amount of time the band will need.

175 * 12 = 2100

so minimum of that. if days go over say 15, add 175 per additional days.

Thanks.

If you were a band would that look like a legit rate to you? I mean.. $2100 looks like a lot of money to a lot of people, and that could be a complete turn off at first glance. Would it be better just to tell them $175 a song? Or would you flat out say $2100 for 12 songs?

Try to avoid charging / song or giving package deals. I did an album for a band and we agreed on a fix price for the whole project. In reality the album took around 30-40% more time to complete than I assumed in my calculations. So go figure ... On the other hand that one project gave me a hell of a good credit - it was a really big band in here and after the project was released I begin receiving much more enquirues.