Need help with MIDI

Mortal_Dezire

Mar 31, 2007
Kearney, NE
www.myspace.com
So I'm trying to get into some composition style instrumentals to put on an album, (ala Glen Danzig) and I've been looking into using MIDI, (I'm broke and I live in NE. 'nuff said...).

I'll be very blunt here. I don't know shit about MIDI. :erk:

I know a few of the basic concepts behind it, but I have no idea how to use this with Cubase LE, (my main DAW). If anyone is willing to help me out with this, that would be greatly appreciated.

BTW- I found this VST that looks pretty interesting. Has anyone ever used this before? And if so, what the fuck do some of those controls mean!? I'm a musician, not a computer programmer!!!

http://www.dontcrack.com/freeware/downloads.php/id/3879/software/String-Theory/

Do you have a midi controller of some sort? Or will you be entering the data manually ?
What are some of the terms you do not understand?
Here is some quick basic steps
First step is to create a midi track in Cubase..
Then open up a VST instrument..this should be located under devices
Then go back to your midi track and choose your VST instrument for your output
Then depending if you are using a controller of some sort (select that device as your input) or you will manually entering notes (you can select all midi inputs)
Make sure your midi channel matches the channel in your VST instrument
Then using your controller start pressing some keys and you should here your selected sample from the VST instrument
If you are not using a controller, you can open up the sequencer and enter notes manually...

I don't have a controller. I want to try to use Finale to input the notes, but I don't know if that's possible. Does Cubase LE have a sequencer? I know nothing when it comes to this stuff. Its all new territory for me.
Things that are confusing to me are terms like Oscillation, Mod wheel, things like that. I've never played a synth.