Need help with vocal tracks

neverpurify

May 24, 2004
I am finally at the point where I am ready to process some vocals. I spend most of my time with sampled drum tracks and guitar tracks so vocals is new to me. In the past when I have attempted vocals I ended up using a mulitband compressor, some reverb and one of the waves plugins (can't remember which one right now, it has the presets suchs as doubler, tripler, octave down etc...) but I am not completely happy with the results. The vocal style is the black/death metal type, kinda in the vein of Enslaved and Satyricon. I'm interested in hearing what some of you guys use on your tracks to get the best results.

Yeah I forgot to mention that I use some EQ. Mainly for midrange frequencies. I love how some bands get that in your face clarity on the vocals, I guess alot of that comes from compression which I'm still learning to use correctly.

neverpurify said:
Yeah I forgot to mention that I use some EQ. Mainly for midrange frequencies. I love how some bands get that in your face clarity on the vocals, I guess alot of that comes from compression which I'm still learning to use correctly.

It comes from an in-your-face sounding vocalist :) No plugin can replace a world-class vocalist. Combine that with an excellent recording room and mic...

When using reverb and delay, set them up on a stereo bus then send to them from the vocal tracks, this way it will widen your vocals and the reverb/delay will spread across the stereo field and not be down the center.

I set up a setero buss that has an EQ to filter out a good amount of lows because that just clutters up the 'verb. But it runs usually something like: EQ > Delay > Verb > Waves S1 to widen up the stereo spread to taste. I personally think the delay does more for the vocals than the verb. Verb is just to glue the voice into the mix.