Need some help

CantoX

Mar 10, 2006
Kuwait
www.myspace.com
Hey,
Im new to this board but im a long time reader and i have to say your an awsome group of people. I love Symphony X and they have inspired me in many ways. I guess you could say im a musician and i can play alot of instruments and i understand the fundementals of musical theory and composition.
Now to the point, my guitar is an Ibanez RG320FM. I recently tuned it down to D tuning(1 step down) and my strings buzz at certain frets.
My question is, what would be the apropriate set up of my guitar in order to keep it at 1 step down tuning without any buzzes. I have 10 gauge light strings and my bridge is an edge II with only the D string in the lower hole while all the rest are in the upper holds.
Thank you.

You could try raising your floating bridge up just a little bit, the two biggest nuts just infront of your bridge(touching). Or you can take the back panel off and slack back on the tension of your springs which in turn raise the bridge up a little... I find this(slacking the strings back) only works well if you need a slight change, if all your strings are buzzing just about every where on the fretboard this probably wont help.

Keep in mind if adjusting your bridge make sure you use an equal amount of turns in anything you do.. dont make things totally out of whack.. and make sure you re -intonate your guitar .. adjusting the bridge can throw it way off.

Yeah, definitely get your guitar set up. It might not even be the action that needs the readjustment, but the neck, since you did change the tension on it when you tuned down.